Update: Scars

When I was a child, I remember running and playing at my grandpa’s house with my cousin. We were having a great time…..till I fell and gashed my knee open on some bricks. I remember that it hurt pretty bad and ended leaving a decent little scar on my knee. Over the years, it has faded much, but is still visible if you look for it.

Isn’t this the way it works in other areas of life? We are having the time of our life and out of nowhere we get injured.

This post is prompted due to many of you I have talked to lately wondering how I am doing, and me asking how many of you are….you know who you are. We were having a ball, and life threw us a curve in the road. We were hurt….different ones of us in different ways….leaving scars on our hearts and our minds.

Here is where I am….just like my knee is healed but still has a scar, that’s how I feel also. I am healed, but there are remnants of the past, and I may never be quite the same, but that’s ok. I may have a different perspective or outlook on some issues than I did before because we are all shaped from our past experiences. When I talk about the memory, it might still sound painful, but it was….that does not mean I am ‘still playing injured’ today. I am not bitter or resentful. I am supportive and there is no love lost. I have healed, and am ready to be back in the game.

For those of you who have been in the same place, regardless of what that might have been, I hope you can do the same. Give yourself time to heal, accept what happened, and move on. Let that scar only serve as a reminder of the good and happy times from that circumstance.

We can always play it safe and never get hurt, or, we can live life to the fullest accepting there are always risks. I choose to live fully.

How are you living today? Is there something in your past that needs to heal so you can get up and play again?

Explore posts in the same categories: My Personal Journey

3 Comments on “Update: Scars”

  1. brian Says:

    good post and challenge…to live is to have been scarred… thankfully Jesus died so we have the power to forgive and move on, even with the scars. reminded that I don’t have the power to forgive or repent (sometimes i cause scars too!) outside of Christ…

  2. kevin Says:

    good stuff. well said. to live safe and unfulfilled is not worth it.

  3. Joy Says:

    I am learning that it can take a lot of time to heal from some injuries. The process of suffering disappointment, unmet expectations and loss will often place us in a season of or cycle of grieving. It can take a few years to recover from some emotional and spiritual wounds that are especially traumatice.

    My greatest struggle has been to allow myself the freedom to grieve…and to process…and to speak my truth in regards to my feelings. I often feel people ‘expect’ followers of Jesus to mask their pain and hurt…and rebound with a smile in an abriviated amount of time…Deep wounds…need deep healing…and in my experience it takes willingness…and time. (o:

    That said…the pain, confusion, loss and suffering I’ve experienced in the past several years have been my greatest teachers. You can’t pay for an education like this!


Leave a comment